You are here

Kids and Families


WORKSHOP REGISTRATIONS:
Victorian Girls Day Camp FULL
History Camp
Granary Art Camp FULL

Camp registration forms also found at Dacotah Prairie Museum front desk at 21 S. Main St. No spot will be reserved without registration form and fee. First come, first registered.


 

NEW! VICTORIAN GIRLS DAY CAMP

 

 

It’s 1885 and you’ve just arrived in Dakota Territory with your pioneer family. It  may be wide open spaces and rugged terrain but you still need to be a proper Victorian young lady.  Learn all the ways young girls were taught in the Victorian era! Experience tea parties, indoor and outdoor period games, tour a Victorian parlor, learn to write your name with vintage script, have a fun drawing lesion and a piano lesson just like a real Victorian girl.

See what it was like to be a Victorian girl!

 

Time: 9 am – 3 pm  Fee: $25
Register: THIS CAMP IS NOW FULL
Location: Dacotah Prairie Museum, meet in Museum lobby.
Questions? Call DPM (626-7117)
(Max. Enrollment: 25)

Ages: 8-14
One day only, Monday, July 15, 2019

 


HISTORY CAMP

 

How did the Pioneers live? Experience pioneer life with old-time chores,
cooking over a campfire, old-fashioned games & more!

 

Time: 9 am – 3 pm  Fee: $15
Register: Print and fill out 2019 , return to DPM with registration fees.
Location: Centennial Village
Questions? Call DPM (626-7117)
(Max. Daily Enrollment: 20)

Dates & Ages: (crossed-out dates are full)

History Camp - (For first-time campers.)

July 2 (Tuesday)         Ages 7-9 FULL
July 3 (Wednesday)    Ages 9-11  FULL
July 5 (Friday)             Ages 11-13

Senior History Camp - (Varied activities for returning campers)

July 10 (Wednesday)  Ages 7-9  FULL
July 11 (Thursday)      Ages 9-11 FULL
July 12 (Friday)           Ages 11-13 FULL


GRANARY ART CAMP

 

Inspiration awaits! Take a field trip to the Granary to be an artist for the day. New theme daily. Two sessions available for many options! Register for one day or more.
Held at the Granary Rural Cultural Center. Bring a sack lunch.
Optional shuttle transportation provided from museum to Granary.

Time: 9 am – 1 pm  Fee: $15
Register: THIS CAMP IS NOW FULL.
Location: Granary Rural Cultural Center (40161 128th St, Groton, SD)
Questions? Call DPM (626-7117)
(Max. Daily Enrollment: 15)

Ages: 8-13 years (crossed-out dates are full)
SESSION I:

June 10 (Monday) - “Create a Building/Create a City” FULL
June 11 (Tuesday) - “Draw Yourself/Draw Someone Else”FULL
June 12 (Wednesday) - “Return to Victorian Times”FULL
June 13 (Thursday) - “Take an Art Visit to Colorful Japan”FULL

SESSION II:

June 24 (Monday) - “Create Art from the Earth” FULL
June 25 (Tuesday) - “Draw the Animals of Africa”FULL
June 26 (Wednesday) - “Return to Castle Days”FULL
June 27 (Thursday) - “Take an Art Visit to Monte's Garden” FULL

 


Fun for Kids of all ages...yoyo

When was your favorite toy introduced? 
click here to learn more